Who we are

This project is a collaboration of San Francisco AIDS Foundation, San Francisco Department of Public Health, Project Inform, Be The Generation, Gilead Sciences and other local health agencies, community-based providers, and PrEP advocates, like Jake Sobo.

San Francisco AIDS Foundation

No city experienced epidemic levels of HIV faster than San Francisco. At San Francisco AIDS Foundation, we work to end the epidemic where it first took hold, and eventually everywhere. Established in 1982, our mission is the radical reduction of new infections in San Francisco. Through education, advocacy, and direct services for prevention and care, we are confronting HIV in communities most vulnerable to the disease. We refuse to accept that HIV transmission is inevitable

Bridge HIV at the San Francisco Department of Public Health

Bridge HIV is a leader in HIV prevention research working with Bay Area communities to discover effective HIV prevention strategies. Operating under the umbrella of the San Francisco Department of Public Health, Bridge HIV conducts innovative research that is guiding global approaches in HIV prevention, such as HIV vaccines. By collaborating with other researchers and communities throughout the world, Bridge HIV’s scientific breakthroughs will be used to help people most affected by the epidemic. Volunteering with Bridge HIV gives participants the opportunity to join a global network of volunteers who are influencing the development of HIV prevention strategies that strive to eliminate HIV/AIDS worldwide.

Project Inform

Project Inform fights the HIV and hepatitis C epidemics by assuring the development of effective treatments and a cure; supporting individuals to make informed choices about their health; advocating for quality, affordable health care; and promoting medical strategies that prevent new infections.

Jake Sobo

Jake Sobo is a pen name used for anonymity. Jake has worked in the world of HIV prevention for nearly a decade. He writes the lively and frank “Promiscuous Gay Nerd” column about gay men’s health for San Francisco AIDS Foundation’s BETA Blog. Jake previously published a 19-part series documenting his experiences on pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), “My Life on PrEP,” for Positive Frontiers magazine, which was picked up by Manhunt, translated into French, and widely read in the HIV prevention world. He has spent the better part of his adult life having as much sex as possible while trying to avoid contracting HIV. Feel free to send a note at mylifeonprep@gmail.com.

Be The Generation

Be The Generation was created by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) to maintain and establish relationships with communities most impacted by the HIV/AIDS epidemic in order to promote awareness, understanding, dialogue, and support for biomedical prevention research, including HIV vaccines, microbicides, and pre-exposure prophylaxis. The initiative is supported by the Division of AIDS (DAIDS), part of NIAID at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIH is an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Gilead Sciences

This website was supported by funding from Gilead Sciences, Inc. Gilead is a research-based biopharmaceutical company that discovers, develops, and commercializes innovative medicines in areas of unmet medical need. Gilead’s portfolio of marketed products includes the only complete treatment regimens for HIV infection available in a once-daily single pill and the first oral antiretroviral pill available to reduce the risk of acquiring HIV infection in certain high-risk adults.

MEDIA CONTACTS

If you are a reporter looking for someone to talk to about PrEP, please see the list below:

From the creators of this website:

San Francisco AIDS Foundation
James Loduca, Vice President, Public Affairs
jloduca@sfaf.org, (415) 786-2396
Ernest Hopkins, Director, Federal Legislative Affairs
ehopkins@sfaf.org, (415) 987-8855

San Francisco Department of Public Health
Eileen Shields, Public Information Officer
Eileen.Shields@sfdph.org; (415) 554-2507

Project Inform
Dana Van Gorder, Executive Director
dvangorder@projectinform.org, (415) 987-7061
David Evans, Director of Research Advocacy
devans@projectinform.org, (626) 241-8267

 

From the national HIV/AIDS advocacy coalition:

AIDS Foundation Chicago
Jim Pickett, AFC Director of Prevention Advocacy and Gay Men’s Health and Chair, IRMA
jpickett@aidschicago.org, (773) 600-6407

AIDS United
Ronald Johnson, Vice President of Policy & Advocacy
rjohnson@aidsunited.org, (202) 657-9320
Victor Barnes, Interim President & CEO
vbarnes@aidsunited.org

amFAR
Chris Collins, Vice President and Director, Public Policy
chris.collins@amfar.org, (202) 492-5807

AVAC
Mitchell Warren, Executive Director
mitchell@avac.org, (914) 661-1536
Kay Marshall, Communications Consultant
kay@avac.org, (347) 249-6375

Bay Area Perinatal AIDS Center
Deborah Cohan
cohand@obgyn.ucsf.edu, (415) 336-1236

Drexel University College of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine
Erika Aaron, CRNP
Erika.Aaron@DrexelMed.edu, (215) 696-0640

Fenway Health
Sean Cahill, Director, Health Policy Research
scahill@fenwayhealth.org, (646) 761-6639

SisterLove
Dazon Dixon Diallo, MPH, President
ddiallo@sisterlove.org, (404) 932-7661

San Francisco Department of Public Health
Eileen Shields, Public Information Officer
Eileen.Shields@sfdph.org; (415) 554-2507

No city experienced epidemic levels of HIV faster than San Francisco.